Oil Me Up, Baby…

Standard

Two and a half years ago, I began a journey towards optimal health.  I went from 206 pounds and a size 18 to 140-145 pounds and a size 10.  I made this miraculous change in just 4 1/2 short months. And yes, it was a healthy loss and I have kept it off and I feel amazing.

My world changed! The drop in weight took me off medications for high blood pressure and took away the fear of developing full blown diabetes (something my doctor kept hounding me about). It also eased my asthma so that I didn’t have to use my emergency inhaler so often.

A few months later, my daughter fell ill and we took another step towards optimal health.  We got rid of commercial cleaners, soaps, personal hygiene goods and went green.  It helped and my daughter improved but she still was not completely healthy. Her doctors’ visits and days missed at school continued to accumulate.

A little over a year ago, my journey took a giant leap forward.  I was introduced to essential oils and our world changed! Who could have guessed that simple oils could so drastically change our lives for the better.  I didn’t believe they could be ultra effective. Boy, was I wrong.

pouring_oilOils have overtaken my medicine cabinet, my vanity, and my cleaning closet. But I am mostly excited about what they have done for my family’s health.

Before I started the rest of the family on oils, I used myself as the guinea pig.  I started with eucalyptus and frankincense to treat my asthma. Within a couple of weeks, I was no longer suffering with the occasional attack.  In fact, it’s now been over 8 months since I had an asthma prescription refilled.  I’ve tossed them all. ☺

It wasn’t long before we were using oils to combat acne, headaches, pinched nerves, PMS, cramping, you know, the little aches and pains that seem to invade our lives regularly. But we were just dabbling in oils.  I was converted yet.

Then, about four months ago,  my daughter’s illness (which doctors couldn’t even put a name to) took a nasty turn and she began to drop weight, suffer from excruciating migraines, had continuous abdominal pain and nausea, had severe lethargy, and couldn’t taste anything.  Despite a myriad of prescriptions, labs, tests, and procedures, western medicine couldn’t make her better or even determine a cause. We were stumped.  Oils came to the rescue again.

My daughter’s symptoms didn’t fit any one illness but they all showed up under various autoimmune diseases.  We decided that since oils could not harm her, we’d try treating her for a blanket autoimmune disease. We developed a regime of oils to be taken internally and externally twice a day and crossed our fingers. We also added liquid chlorophyll and black walnut extract infusions in the off chance that we were dealing with a parasite.

Each morning, my daughter consumes 18 drops of chlorophyll, 10 drops of black walnut extract, 8 drops of an oil blend which consists of frankincense, wild orange, lemongrass, thyme, summer savory, niaouli, and clove, and 1 drop of an oil blend that contains clove bud, grapefruit peel, rosemary leaf, and geranium flower. She downs all this in 8 ounces of fat-free milk.

Each night, she consumes another 10 drops of black walnut extract, and 4 capsules each of a mega vitamin. I mix these into a chocolate ice cream shake as she has such a severe gag reflex that prohibits her from swallowing pills.  The taste isn’t great but we apply a drop of a digestive essential oil blend to her throat and she’s able to keep both concoctions down.

Then, in the evening, the external application begins. Each night, before she goes to bed, I apply 8 different oils to her back; Lavender to help her relax, melaleuca to help strengthen her immune system, four oil blends to help reduce inflammation, and Peppermint and Wild Orange to balance her autonomic system. Then we apply 2 drops of another calming oil blend to the soles of her feet to help her sleep and another two drops of the digestive oil blend to her abdomen.

We have been doing this for a month now.  The migraines have almost disappeared. She is getting back her sense of taste, she isn’t as tired and the afternoon 3 hour naps have ceased, and she’s feeling less nauseous and has put on 3 pounds (that’s a BIG deal when your 5’11” and your weight is 106). The abdominal pain has also lessened.

Is she healed yet? No.

Is she out of the woods? Not quite yet.

However, we are seeing daily improvement.  She is back at school and my normally cheerful and very sociable daughter is back. I don’t expect an overnight cure. It took weeks for her illness to get as bad as it did.  It will take just as long to be cured.

We are converted! Green living, organic, clean, and healthy eating, and essential oils as medicine, and life sustaining necessities are now are daily routine. The medical community couldn’t help us. God’s wonderful natural remedies could. Thank heavens for my daughter’s wonderful Gastro-Intestinal physician who supported our decision to try natural remedies.  Our experience with western medicine could have been very difficult without his supporting us.

Our journey to optimal health isn’t complete. Not by a long shot. We are just beginning. As I learn more and find new applications for essential oils in my life, I’ll post about them here.  As a matter of fact, we just had a round of the flu strike our home.  I’ll blog about that later.

For now, I’m off to see my beautiful daughter teach a dance class.  Yep, she’s on the road to recovery.

About leisatwatkins

In May 2011, I hit an all time low in my life and an all time high in my weight. I was 199 pounds and the idea of hitting 200 scared me. I had tried every known diet, HCG, Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Atkins, the grapefruit diet. I'd even tried Phen-phen when I was younger and Dexatrim before that. While I'd lose a little weight, I would always gain it back and then more. I knew the yo-yo dieting was not healthy for my body and it was definitely wreaking havoc on my mental wellness. I didn't know what to do and I was looking into taking drastic surgical measures to lose weight. That's when a friend of mine told me his story about losing over 200 pounds without pills, surgery, or starving himself. Not only did he lose the weight, but he kept it off. What did I have to lose? I asked him to share the secret with me. Now, only six short months later, I weigh 140 lbs and am working on losing 5 more. That will put me back to my weight that I was in HS, college, and before I had children. And I've done it with my friend's help as my Health Coach, without starving or even exercising, although I love to walk everyday. I haven't felt hungry at all in this process. How many "diets" can say that? I feel fantastic! I've felt great since the first week on this program. Let me be very clear about this. This is NOT a diet. This is not something you do for a little while, lose the weight, then go back to your old eating habits. This program is a life changing plan to help you eat healthier, make food choices that are tailored to your body, and bring you to a state of optimal physical health. If like me, you are tired of diets that don't work, then let me show you a life style plan that does.

Leave a Reply

