What’s your Achilles’ Heel?

Standard

We all have it. That one thing (or even two things) that we just love so much, it will derail every goal and good intention when it comes to eating healthy.  Mine is french fries…

 

 

and chocolate…

 

 

 

and mushrooms, the deep fried ones!

So how do you have your cake, or fries, or chocolate… and still stay healthy? It’s about all about MODERATION and PREPARATION.

You know about MODERATION.  Keep your serving size small and don’t go back for seconds.  Also, some things just aren’t healthy for you if you eat them EVERY DAY.

PREPARATION is a little harder.  Just because you are not adding sugar or frying something, doesn’t mean you are sacrificing taste.  I love to cook and here’s what I’ve come up with for my three Achilles’ heel items.

 

Suntanned French Fries

  • cooking spray
  • 1 pound butternut squash – peeled, seeded, and cut into thick French fries
  • 1 pinch salt to taste
  • 1 drop black pepper essential oil or 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 drop oregano essential oil or 1/8 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C). Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. Blot any moisture from the butternut squash fries with paper towels, and place on the prepared baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt, black pepper, and Cajun seasoning.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until lightly browned and tender, 15 to 20 minutes, turning once.

 

Chocolate Bark

chocolate-bark

  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil, softened
  • 1 drop Peppermint essential oil
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • ½ teaspoon honey

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, combine all three ingredients and mix until well combined. Taste the mixture, and adjust sweetness, to taste.
  2. Transfer the chocolate mixture to a dish lined with parchment paper, and smooth with a spatula.
  3. Place in the freezer to set for 20 minutes, then use a knife to cut into bite-sized chunks.
  4. Serve directly from the freezer and enjoy!

Notes
It’s important that the coconut oil is not melted, or the coconut oil and cocoa powder will separate while setting. For a smooth texture, solid or softened coconut oil is best.

 

Not Deep Fried Mushrooms

  • 1/2 c. quinoa flour
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 c. soft bread crumbs (I prefer whole wheat)
  • 1/2 c grated parmesan
  • 1 drop basil essential oil or  2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 c egg substitute, slightly beaten
  • 1/4 c. non-fat milk
  • 16 oz fresh mushrooms
  • 1/4 c. Smart Balance Light buttery Spread. melted

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees
  2. Lightly grease 15×10-inch jelly-roll pan.
  3. In plastic bag, combine flour and paprika.
  4. In another plastic bag, combine crumbs, cheese and basil.
  5. In small bowl combine eggs and milk.
  6. Shake mushrooms in flour mixture and dip in egg mixture.
  7. Shake in crumb mixture, pressing crumb mixture to mushrooms to coat.
  8. Arrange mushrooms cap-side down on prepared jelly-roll pan.
  9. Drizzle with butter.
  10. Bake 10 minutes or until golden brown.

Fried_Mushrooms

You don’t have to give up foods you enjoy when you’re working on living and eating healthy. Most recipes can be modified to give you the foods you love without the not-so-good oils, sugars, fats, and calories that are NOT good for your health.
About leisatwatkins

In May 2011, I hit an all time low in my life and an all time high in my weight. I was 199 pounds and the idea of hitting 200 scared me. I had tried every known diet, HCG, Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Atkins, the grapefruit diet. I'd even tried Phen-phen when I was younger and Dexatrim before that. While I'd lose a little weight, I would always gain it back and then more. I knew the yo-yo dieting was not healthy for my body and it was definitely wreaking havoc on my mental wellness. I didn't know what to do and I was looking into taking drastic surgical measures to lose weight. That's when a friend of mine told me his story about losing over 200 pounds without pills, surgery, or starving himself. Not only did he lose the weight, but he kept it off. What did I have to lose? I asked him to share the secret with me. Now, only six short months later, I weigh 140 lbs and am working on losing 5 more. That will put me back to my weight that I was in HS, college, and before I had children. And I've done it with my friend's help as my Health Coach, without starving or even exercising, although I love to walk everyday. I haven't felt hungry at all in this process. How many "diets" can say that? I feel fantastic! I've felt great since the first week on this program. Let me be very clear about this. This is NOT a diet. This is not something you do for a little while, lose the weight, then go back to your old eating habits. This program is a life changing plan to help you eat healthier, make food choices that are tailored to your body, and bring you to a state of optimal physical health. If like me, you are tired of diets that don't work, then let me show you a life style plan that does.

Leave a Reply

